Transforming: day 22


I WILL  BE SPEAKING IN ALL CAPS TODAY BECAUSE LAST NIGHT BETH AND I WENT TO SEE U2 AND MY EARS ARE STILL RINGING!

Alright, enough of that. Last nights concert was awesome! And for many fans it was a lesson in delayed gratification. We purchased our tickets in the fall of 2009 for a concert that was to be held in July of 2010. For all of us who had tickets at that time we had a musical gestation period of nine months that would end in a cacophony of sound and light.

During that time Bono hurt his back and had to have it surgically reconstructed. By German steel as he let us know last night. We were told to bold onto our tickets and they would try to get on tour again, so here were are another year later and we still had our 2010 tickets and used them for a 2011 show.

Last night, Bono couldn’t thank the fans enough for holding onto their tickets and showing him and the band such support during the difficulties with his back.

Delayed gratification. This concept in our country is not something that is advertised. We are a self serve nation who wants what we want when we want it. This is why the diet industry booms. People look for a quick fix to transform their bodies either through medication or surgery.

I’m here to say there is no quick fix. 2 years in and a lifetime to go. But the gratification I feel today seeing what I’ve been able to accomplish is as great as hearing U2 sing One as I hold my wife in my arms and it’s like we’re dancing at our wedding 17 years ago.

Delayed gratification. Try it.

Did my circuit today after standing for 6 hrs at the concert last night. Could it be that we are too old for general admission?

I did 12 reps of each weighted exercise today. Up two from last time and I completed 59 pushups. And now my arms are tired.

Later today Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt 2. More delayed gratification!

T-68 days.

4 thoughts on “Transforming: day 22

  1. I will tell you this, it was really nice to be able to sit for some of the slower songs (Far Away, So Close, One, etc.). it was great seeing you last night.

  2. Tyler, thanks for posting the numbers from the concert. I LOVED them. I never could have stood for 6 hours. Your transforming must be paying off. I managed two Pilates classes, one total body training class, and one yoga class this week and am now hobbling. Keep up the amazing work.

    1. Maureen,

      I’m a bit stiff today. Plan on going for a short run later to get the kinks out. Thanks for you kind words.

Leave a Reply

