Transforming: Day 90


P90

Today is the last day of my 90 day adventure. There are few things that everyone needs to know before taking on one of these semi-Herculean tasks:

  1. Be sure to have the time.  You will need to commit between 30-45 minutes a day to doing this adventure.  As a school teacher, my summer off allowed me to do most of it unencumbered by work.  Originally my plan was to end the third week of September.  Then it got pushed back a week because we took a family vacation to Disney World, and I wasn’t packing my free weights on the plane.  Then it was to end on the 27th of September, but between school and karate my hours were eaten up and I simply didnt have the time.  Which brings us to today.
  2. Life will get in the way.  Even the best laid plans can be undermined.  To quote Dr. Ian Malcolm from Jurassic Park, “Life will find a way.”  A way to alter what we want to accomplish.  You have to remember that you’ve made a committment.  For me it meant that no matter what got in the way in those last few weeks I would make it up.  I committed to 90 days and that’s what I was going to do.
  3. Don’t Stop Believing!  I think that says it all.  No matter how tired, weak, or defeated.  The next day will be better because you kept going!  There were so many days when I felt like, “I should be stronger, I don’t notice any difference in my body, Is this even working?”  Many of us who start these things don’t have a frame of reference for how exercise affects us, so let’s not place artificial goals on ourselves.  Simply do the work!
  4. Physical Strength Breeds Mental Strength.  When beginning this journey I was not quite strong in either of these realms, but through this experience my physical strength increased which encouraged me mentally, because now I can do what at one time I assumed I simply could not.
  5. Losing Weight dredges up all kinds of Emotion.  I’ve been overweight most of my life and as I’ve been exercising these last two years, I’ve noticed that all sorts of emotional issues have been dredged up.  Clearly my fat cells were not stuffed with adipose tissue but with fears, doubts, weakness and pain.  As those cells shrink, what is stored in them comes to the surface and need to be dealt with.  I personified these issues as my Husky self.  It was helpful to speak of him and face much of what he represents to me.  The devil you know. 

So at the end of 90 days I’ve lost 8 lbs and 4 inches off of my waist.  I did not diet during these 90 days.  The weight training actually added pounds as I got stronger because muscle mass weighs more than fat.  I am happy with the way I look and feel!

If you plan on taking on a 90 day adventure please remember:

  1. Don’t over-think, hell, don’t think!  Just Do!!
  2. Keep doing!  Find a time in the day that fits your schedule and keep to it!!
  3. Have supportive family and friends
  4. Push yourself.  Stop trying to Pull others!
  5. Be ready to Deal with the emotions

    The shirt says it all

T-0 days!!

20 days till the Half Marathon!

Leave a Reply

