Meatless Monday: Vegetarian Lasagna


Please notice that the title of this meal is Vegetarian Lasagna and not just Vegetable Lasgna.  And I know that there are a few of you who are thinking what kind of fool trys to make lasagna on a weeknight, or that I simply cheated and bought a stouffer’s.  Believe me the thought had crossed my mind.

The Great Big Book of Everything

This weekend as I was putting groceries away in the pantry I noticed some lasagna noodles tucked away on the top shelf.  These noodles are the no boil variety that I had had a coupon for a few months ago.   So I got to thinking, “there should be a vegetarian recipie for lasagna that isn’t just vegetable lasagna.”  To find out my answer I went to the Great Big Book of Everything, aka How to Cook Everything!

Mark Bittman has a recipie for vegetarian lasagna that I doctored. When I first got home I thought that I would have to run to the store to get some mozzerella and ricotta cheeses, until I saw that Bittman’s recipie did not call for them.  I was happy to not have to run to the store especially since I had a bit of prep time to get things done tonight.  Between prep work and helping Leah with her homework, I had the lasagna in the oven after about 40 minutes. These were the ingredients for my Murphy Vegetarian Lasagna:

  • 2 tablespoons of flour
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 1/2 cups of milk
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 cup of parmesan cheese
  • 1 cup of shredded carrot
  • 1 cup of shredded zucchini
  • 1 pkg of sliced mushrooms
  • 2 cups of fresh spinach
  • 2 small onions
  • 1 can of tomato paste
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 box no boil lasagna noodles

I sauteed all of the vegetables in some EVOO until they were softened.  I then removed them from the pan and created a roux using the flour and butter.  Once the flour sauce had become tan in color I slowly added 1 cup of the milk, whisking until thickened.  I then slowly added the remaining milk until it was thinner.  I added the cheese to the sauce, heated it through and then added the tomato paste and pureed tomatoes and an additional can of water.

Once the sauce was done I arranged the pasta in the cassarole dish and layered them with the vegetable mixture and then poured sauce over top.  More noodles, vegetables and sauce until all 12 noodles were used.  I baked it at 350 for 35 min covered with aluminum foil.  I uncovered it for 10 more minutes and sprinkled a little more parmesean on top.

I was so pleased with both the flavor and depth of tonight’s meal.  The girls rated it as follows:

Leah –5 stars

Beth–5 stars

Hope–5 stars

Another meatless Monday that required a bit more effort but no one missed the meat and Beth even went back for seconds.

5 Star rating
Leave a Reply

