Revolution: Day 15 (There is No Try)


Today I began the second half of the first month of this revolutionary experience. With a bit of trepidation I slipped Disc 3 into the DVD player and here came Jillian Michaels, all smiles, hiding the evil she has within.

My anxiety as the disc came on was a direct result of the fact that my mind creates

CARDIO!

“worst case scenarios” of which I will not be prepared. Now don’t think I’m picturing a zombie apocalypse or a pirahanconda attacking while I’m working out.

For me, WCS is simply that I can’t do it as well as I “should” be able to. There’s a pefectionism to my nature is both a blessing and a curse….and sometimes it is a crutch.

For my entire life, it’s easier to say, “why should I try if I can’t do it the way everyone else can?” When I look back on how that statement has created for me a “comfort zone” that is plush. All I’m saying is if I were George Costanza, I’d be ensconced in velvet!

That was something my girl Jillian shouted at today–Leave Your Comfort Zone! During some of the workouts, which were now combinations of yoga, plyometrics and weight training, she encouraged me to try the more advanced moves at least once.

Her logic is sound. “Try it, you’ll like it.” Where have I heard that before.

But better yet, the voice of Yoda was in my head saying, “Do or do not, there is no try.” That pretty much sums it up. You either do it or you don’t. You either commit to the process or you don’t.

While I see her yelling and then smiling–she’s so frightening! I understand what she’s saying, and so I did try the harder workout. Actually I didn’t just try it. Trying something is like what I do with my youngest when I encourage her to eat calamari or mushrooms. You put it to your tongue and see if you like it. You can’t taste an exercise…so many jokes in this one. You either it do it or you don’t. I decided to Do it! Do one and then another, and the best part is, it could be done. Maybe not as done as well as those on the screen, but done nonetheless.

Then I hear her smiling, evil voice in my head. You are stronger than you believe. Stronger, yes, but I definitely felt inflexible. The yoga moves today were quite challenging and they definitely stressed my perfectionist nature.

Tomorrow is another new day–more new challenges–another chance to try Do something new.

Leave a Reply

